
 

2016  NFHS Boys Lacrosse - Frequently Asked Questions 

 

1. NFHS Rule 1-7- 3 provides, in part, that:  “Any additional strings or laces 
(e.g., shooting strings, V channels) must be located within 4 inches of the 
top of the crosse.”  

 

Q.  Does this restriction apply to the Goalkeeper’s crosse?  

A.  No. That part of the rule does not apply to the Goalkeeper’s crosse. 

Q.  What is the penalty for a violation? 

A.   Under Rule 5.5 - 3 minute non-releasable penalty and the crosse remains at 
the table for the remainder of the game.  

  



 

2. NFHS Rule 4-18-1 SITUATION E:  
 

 

Q.   Does the goalkeeper count as one of the two defenders referred to in the 
situation? 

A.  No the goalkeeper does not count as one of the two defensemen under this 
rule. 

Q.   Is this an immediate whistle? 

 A.  The officials will stop play as soon as they notice the situation. However, if a 
shot is already in flight when this is noticed, the shot will be allowed to come to 
its normal conclusion before the whistle blows to stop play. 

  

3. Restarts 

 Q.  Where is the play restarted when there is a technical foul before the faceoff 
begins or while the faceoff players are down battling in the faceoff position? 

 A.  The offended team is awarded the ball in its offensive side of the field at the 
center. 

  

Q.  If after the face off is started, the ball is directed or moves away from the 
Center if a player commits a loose ball infraction, e.g. a push or hold, where 
does the play restart?  

 A.  The play is restarted where at the spot where the ball was when the whistle 
blew.  

   



 

4. NFHS Rule 4-3-3n 

 

 

Q.  Can paint be used in place of tape on the crosse? 

A.  No, tape must be used. 


