Rules Quiz #2 Answers

Here are the answers to Rules Quiz #2 with rules references. The questions dealt with a variety of topics including offsides, Unsportsmanlike Conduct, use of a timer, goal/no goal and overtime.  If you have a situation that you think you got wrong or could have handled differently, let us know.  

1. Proper Overtime Procedure: Each team gets one time out (none carry over from the second half), coin toss determines goal to defend, AP remains the same. 4 minute period, first goal wins. Repeat if no winner; no need to redo coin toss, teams do not switch ends in subsequent periods.

TRUE (see Rules 3:4, 4:23, and 4:29). This should be reviewed regularly in the pre-game and in conference with officials during close games. Be sure to bring captains and coaches together before you begin the OT period to review the rules and procedures.

2. Player B13 uses inappropriate language arguing with an official?  The penalty for this is:

Language is NOT an automatic 3 minute NR USC foul.This is an area where an official must use his or her discretion.  General rule of thumb is the more people who can hear the offending language, the more sever the penalty. Answer is a and c.(i.e. a. Conduct foul:technical foul if team A is in possession FDSW, if loose, award ball to A. OR c. 1-3 minute NR USC (at the discretion of the official).

3. Player B1 runs offsides chasing an A player in transition who is in possession, B1 then returns onsides.  B6 a) is the seventh defensive player, enters the field through the sub box or b) goes offsides as well. What is the call?

See Situations 4:10 A and B. Only one foul has been committed if a player who runs offsides and jumps back over the midline, may return to his offsides position. However, should another player run offsides, a second foul has been committed. therefore the answer is : a. B1 is flagged for offsides, in both a) and b) these are separate fouls. B will be two men down for 30 seconds unless A scores and all technical fouls are wiped out.

4. A time serving foul has been called against team B, but none of the officials get the offender’s number?

All of these are viable options. a. ask the players who committed the foul. OR b. the in-home serves(see rule 7:4-1) OR c. choose a player who is nearby and looks sad, upset or guilty.

5. GK B1 has possession in the crease and he drops his stick. It lands with the stick head inside the goal and the ball still in the stick head. Ruling?

For this NOT to be a goal, the ball would need to be in player possession which is defined in rule 4:5 Art. 2 as a player being able to “carry, cradle, pass or shoot.” The keeper can do none of these, therefore this is a goal.

6. When should the 20-second timer be used?

A timer should be used in ALL of these situations. Do not assume that a team will clear the ball, or be ready for a faceoff or following a time out. You can still use your judgement as to whether to enforce a delay; don;t be too good. But if you do hit a team with delay, you have set the bar and must enforce all such violations for the rest of the contest.

a. following a goal, the wing official hustles to position signals “timer on” and starts timer. Failure to be ready with 20 seconds is delay of game.

b. bench side official starts timer following a time out. Once 1:40 are up or team requesting TO is ready, he signals that play will resume in 20 seconds.

c. when a team gains possession in their defensive half.