NFHS and USL Rules Memos 2016

nfhsThe NFHS and US Lacrosse have released a number of memos clarifying rules for 2016.  Key rules clarification involve the dive play, over and back rule and goalie exception for stringing rules and tape on faceoff crosses.

If you have questions regarding rules, please email rules interpreter Jeremy Redmon at rules@galaxref.com.

Resetting Counts after Flag

Q: Team A has possession. Team B commits a foul, FDSW. If Team A is under a (a) 10 second count or (b) 20 second count, does this reset the count?

A: (a) Yes. Team A has a new 10 seconds to advance the ball into the goal area. (b) Yes. Team A has a new 20
seconds to advance the ball across the center line. In both situations, it is the same result as if there had been a
loose ball, a violation by Team B and a play on was called. See 4-13 Situation B and 4-14.1 Situation E. Note: if
applicable, such a flag down would also reset a 4 second crease count.

Playing without Required Equipment

Existing 4.24.6 Situation: A1 is running down the field in his attack half of the field, with no player from Team B near him. He loses any mandatory equipment and then shoots at goal, scoring a goal.

Existing Ruling: Legal goal. Officials should be ready to stop play to prevent a potential injury if any player of Team B is close enough to play A1.

NEW NOTE: If defensive player B1 loses any mandatory equipment, he must leave the field or regain his equipment before continuing to play. It is a technical foul if B1 continues to play without mandatory equipment. If the situation is potentially dangerous, officials should stop play and assess the foul/violation.

Goalie Exception for String Rules

Q. Does the restriction on shooting strings withing 4′ of the top f the crosse (Rule 1-7-3) apply to the Goalkeeper’s crosse?

A. No. That part of the rule does not apply to the Goalkeeper’s crosse.

Q. What is the penalty for a violation?

A. Under Rule 5.5 – 3 minute non-releasable penalty and the crosse remains at the table for the remainder of the game.

Penalty for Shooting String Violation

Q. What is the penalty for a violation?

A. Under Rule 5.5 – 3 minute non-releasable penalty and the crosse remains at the table for the remainder of the game.

Dive Rule

Q: A1, not in possession of the ball, is positioned near the crease. A2 takes a shot from outside the crease area and the ball rebounds into the air above the crease. A1 jumps into the air toward the crease, catches the ball in his crosse and shoots the ball while still airborne. The ball enters the goal, and then A1 lands in the crease. Is the goal allowed?

A: No, because A1 was not grounded before, during and after the shot and landed in the crease.

Q: A1 has possession of the ball outside of the crease area. A2 runs toward the crease and jumps or dives into the air toward the crease as A1 feeds the ball to him. While still airborne, A2 shoots at the goal. The ball enters the goal, and then A2 lands in the crease. Is the goal allowed?

A: No, because A2 (the shooter) was not grounded before, during and after the shot and landed in the crease.

Q: A1, not in possession of the ball, is positioned near the crease. A2 takes a shot from outside the crease area and the ball rebounds into the air above the crease. A1 leaps into the air, catches the ball in his crosse and shoots the ball while still airborne. The ball enters the goal, and then A1 lands outside of the crease. After landing outside the crease, A1’s momentum carries him into the crease. Is the goal allowed?

A: Yes. The play is considered to have ended when A1 lands outside the crease after the ball enters the goal.

NOTE: In each of the above cases, batting the ball into the goal would result in the same ruling as catching and shooting the ball.

Over & Back

Q: Team A has successfully advanced the ball into the attack goal area. A1 shoots at the goal and the ball rebounds and as a result crosses the center line. May Team A pick up the ball, and does a new 20-second count start?

A: Yes, Team A may regain possession and a new 20-second count starts.

Q: Team A has successfully advanced the ball into the attack goal area. A1 attempts a pass the ball to A2. The pass is deflected by B1 and crosses over the center line last touched by a defensive player. May Team A pick up the ball, and does a new 20-second count start?

A: Yes, Team A may regain possession and a new 20-second count starts.

Q. Is the center line treated as a plane so that if a ball crosses the center line it is an immediate violation?

A. No the ball must touch the center line, the ground on the defense half of the field or anything in defensive half.

Q. May a player in the defensive half of the field bat the ball with his cross or kick the ball so that the ball does not cross the centerline?

A. Yes.

Q. May a player in the offensive half of the field reach across the centerline and either catch the ball or bat the ball back over the centerline, so that it never touches the center line, the ground on the defense half of the field or anything in contact with the defensive half?

A. Yes

Restarts

Q. Where is the play restarted when there is a technical foul before the faceoff begins or while the faceoff players are down battling in the faceoff position?

A. The offended team is awarded the ball in its offensive side of the field at the center.

Q. If after the face off is started, the ball is directed or moves away from the Center if a player commits a loose ball infraction, e.g. a push or hold, where does the play restart?

A. The play is restarted where at the spot where the ball was when the whistle
blew.

Faceoff Crosse Tape

Q. Can paint be used in place of tape on the crosse?

A. No, tape must be used.

Q. Do youth players, U15 and below, need contrasting tape to face off?

A. No.

Here are links to the original NFHS memos: Memo 1, Memo 2, Memo 3.